Exploration

This weekend, I visited some interesting places I had never been to in New York City before.

Friday I went to the MoMA, The Museum of Modern Art, for the first time. I haven’t been to any Museums in NYC before so I was curious to attend when my friend invited me to go. There were a lot of tourists, and a lot of people in general, which can be a bit nerve-racking, but the I did enjoy the art-gazing. These are a few of my favorite pieces that I was able to get photos of.

Claude Monet Agapanthus

Max Ernst Rendezvous of Friends- The Friends become Flowers

Pablo Picasso Three Musicians

Gustav Klimt Hope, II

On friday night, I went to the Half Gallery for the opening of a new exhibiton from the fashion photographer Terry Richardson (although this exhibit did not showcase his fashion photography). The exhibiton is called “Mom and Dad”. His late father Bob Richardson was a renowned fashion photographer and his mother Annie — still alive and kicking it in Ojai, California — a former Copacabana dancer, stylist and Jimi Hendrix paramour. Although they divorced when Terry was quite young, the couple are brought together again here in these touching, funny, sometimes desperate photographs (http://halfgallery.com/).  It was a very interesting exhibit. If you want to see more photos check the previous website out or this one http://www.colette.fr/#/eshop/article/30811677/mom-dad-terry-richardson/1060/ 

These are a few shots of the photos displayed:

Despite the packed crowd, I was able to snap this picture of Terry at the opening (He’s the one on the left, I have no clue who the other guy is!):

Lastly, my friends and I visited the High Line, which is an old above ground subway line that was tranformed into an aerial greenway and spans about 30 blocks on the West Side of Manhattan.Its a very neat and calm place that has some incredible views of the city! These are some pictures I took from the High Line:

Me, Grayson and Kelsey

Leave a Reply

